Recycling Reading

Blog update is a little late today, sorry!  It’s about to get insanely hot again here so perhaps I am paralysed with dread.  Anyway, I’ve been thinking some more about my reading habits and the fact that I am one of the all-time great re-readers.

Some people I know – people who really like books – read something once and then never pick it up again.  Basically once they’ve been through it once they’re done with it.  I, on the other hand, will re-read books I like many, many times.  Some of that is just because it’s relaxing.  When I get to the end of a long day, especially if I have spent it trying to decipher essays or microfilm, a lot of the time I really don’t want something that is going to challenge me, so a favorite story just feels very comfortable and easy to enjoy.

The part about not wanting to be challenged is probably reflective of terrible taste in literature, I suppose – when I’m reading for pleasure a lot of the time I really do just want to be able to enjoy it, and not necessarily be trying to figure out what it all means.  I’m sort of at peace with that, though.  I have terrible taste in a lot of things and at this point I just enjoy what I enjoy and try not to worry about it all too much.

The other part of rereading things, though, is that a lot of the time I really do notice something new that I didn’t the first time through.  Maybe there was a bit of foreshadowing I missed the first time, or I hadn’t really appreciated an effective piece of description.  It’s a very rare book that I don’t find a new way to enjoy at least two or three times, and after that, well, my favorite ooks are like comfy pjs – both are very pleasant at the end of a long day.

 

 

Word Count: 48,101

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

