NO TIME FOR JET LANDINGS

Originally I started to write this entry and titled it ‘Mission Accomplished’ because, in a way, that’s true – I did get a complete draft of The Project done on the schedule I set in my last post and sent out to the Eager Volunteers.  However, I think for all time the words ‘mission accomplished’ will forever recall George Bush on the aircraft carrier and maybe that’s a useful association because a lot of times when our impulse is to think that something is done it is far from it.

So it is with this writing project.  While I am genuinely pleased that I have – for the first time ever – ‘finished’ a novel-length piece of writing, in the sense of continuing on with it until it is (in a broad sense) a complete story, it isn’t done.  I mean, you can read it through from the beginning to the end and it isn’t missing any bits or have any of my beloved ‘COME BACK AND FIX LATER’ notations in it.  However, I am also conscious that it is very rough, likely needs a lot of work to make proper sense to anyone that isn’t me, and probably needs a lot of additional love and care to make into something that might read well.

‘Finished’ is therefore an optimistic exaggeration and so would ‘mission accomplished’ have been.  In a way (and I remember this from the thesis writing process) the next steps will be potentially harder because, for me at least, editting is not as satisfying as the raw creation process of writing from scratch.  But it’s probably (again judging from the thesis) more important in its way.

I am fortunate in already having something to get started on – one of the Eager Volunteers already read the thing and sent back some very thorough comments.  Now I have to find time to spend on them and the writing, and that will be the next challenge for the next while.

However, going to try to stick to not finding time, but making time.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

p.s. If you’re wondering about the time lag (and lack of posts) between last time and this time, the answer is ‘a lot of germs’ and ‘bedridden’ and I am going to give myself a pass on that one.  So there.

WORD COUNT: 88, 551

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “NO TIME FOR JET LANDINGS

  1. elvishefer says:

    I was sick about a month ago. I think it’s great how the older I get the more a common cold knocks me on my ass. Glad to hear you’re over whatever was ailing you!

Leave a Reply

