Arise, Blog!

Well.

I guess it’s been a while? (Achievement Unlocked: Tremendous Understatement)

Clearly the plan to update the blog once a week didn’t exactly go so well, as with The Project largely finished, I really lost my momentum, both for writing and thus having anything to write about on the blog. In fact, I had more or less decided that writing The Project had been a fun exercise but one that would ultimately not lead anywhere except perhaps reminding me that I do enjoy writing. I did some editting, but no longer with any strong sense that it was for any particular purpose, and so it didn’t seem particularly urgent. I worked at it sporadically. It was probably going to enter the digital purgatory I talked about in an earlier entry until Statler and Waldorf were finished convincing me to never think of it again.

(There’s a whole potential aside here about the danger of setting overambitious goals for oneself that become motivation-killers when one falls short of them, but that’s probably another post. There’s a point I want to get to right now.)

Fortunately for me, another friend asked to read the draft, liked it, and insisted that I should try to publish it. It was a shot in the arm that I very much needed and so Work Resumed.

I’m very excited to say that in the end it paid off: after some relatively major surgery on the draft, I pitched the manuscript to Renaissance Press this past fall and they have agreed to publish what will become my first novel. Having a book of mine published has been a dream of mine for a very long time and so basically whatever happens from this point is gravy. Obviously if the book were to be (on some level) a hit or a success (however we want to define that) it would be fantastic. But people (exact number to be determined) are going to read my story and that feels very much like a success already to me.

I hope they will like it. I can’t wait to share my story with whoever is interested and to see what they think of it. Hopefully we can talk about it.

There is a lot of work to be done between now and the book coming out, though. More editting is a given, and there are no doubt many parts of the process that I’m not yet aware of. I’m looking forward to learning about them all and I’m going to get back to keeping this blog (honest!) with at least weekly updates as part of it.

I’m also working on a new project (with the first chunk already sent out to Eager Volunteers) so I’ll probably talk about that sometimes as well.

Oh yes, The Project does have an actual title! It’s called The King in Darkness. It’s a supernatural thriller story which is, essentially, about despair, or what happens when we are confronted with adversity. We have a choice: give in, or persevere. I guess that’s a choice I would have botched regarding writing if not for that friend of mine. Hopefully my characters handle it a little better. Again, I’m very much looking forward to seeing what people think of the story I’ve told.

Got to be patient a while, though. All being well the book should come out sometime in the fall. Updates about that, and other things, to come.

I swear.

For those of you who have been reading this since I first started The Project, thanks for being part of the ride that got me to this point. If you’ve just arrived, welcome, and I hope to have things to say about getting The King in Darkness ready to publish, writing in general, and perhaps other things, that are some combination of insightful, entertaining, useful (hah!) or at least easy to read.

Meanwhile, why not visit Renaissance Press at their website: http://renaissancebookpress.com/ and have a look at everything they have to offer. They are thoroughly wonderful people who love books and writers and deserve your support.

More soon.

(really!)

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Arise, Blog!

  1. Sanne says:

    It’s strange with blogging… Sometimes I ger the feeling I have nothing to write about and that I write very seldom, and I begin to wonder if maybe my blogging days are over – and then all of a sudden some weeks later my head burst with things I absolutely NEED to write about 🙂

    • emaymustgo says:

      It was easier when the blog was directly tied to the writing project – I needed to provide updates to prove I was doing the writing, and so I had to come up with posts to go along with those. Got much trickier after I didn’t have that pushing me. Obviously.

      I think there should be enough exciting stuff going on for the next while to keep me going now, though.

      Also please do keep blogging yourself!

Leave a Reply

